Club Championships

Club Championships are open to all 'Full Bowling' Club members. Club colours are required to be worn on the day. If you are competing, you may be required to mark for other competing players.

Events include:

       Veteran Singles    (Ladies 4/6/13th November, 2016; Men's 29/30th January 2017)

             4 bowls, 17 shots up.

       Ladies & Men's Novices Championship Singles  (Ladies 28th January; Men's 29/30th January 2017)

4 bowls, 21 shots up. 

Ladies & Men's Championship Pairs (Ladies 2/3/10th November; Men's 16/23rd October, 2016)

4 bowls, 2x2x2x2, 12 ends.

Ladies & Men's Championship Triples  (Men's 29th November, 4/11th December, 2016; Ladies12/19th January 2017)

2 bowls, 16 ends. 

Ladies & Men's Championship Fours   (Ladies 1/8th December, 2016; Men's 14/15th January 2017)

2 bowls, 14 ends. 

Mixed Championship Pairs   (6/20th November, 2016)

4 bowls, 2x2x2x2, 12 ends. 

Mixed Championship Fours  (Sunday 2/9th October, 2016)

2 bowls, 14 ends. 



Refer to the 'Calendar' in this website for dates & times of the events. Decisions on the day by the Match Committee are final. Finals may be played extra shots up (Singles) or ends played, subject to Match Committee decision.




This event finished in the 12th October. From all reports the  the bowling standard was excellent, showing that the Veteran staus had not diminished their bowling ability.

The Winner was Lei Beattie, who overcame Runner Up & last years winner Judy Morgan. The Plate was won by Bev Farrow who was successful against Maree Scanlan. Well done Ladies.









Once again the Finals for the Ladies & the Men were played on the same day. This format has proved very popular in the past, but timing has not always allowed this to happen. The Finals were played on Sunday 26th February in good weather with a steady breeze keeping the temperature reasonable & proving tricky with controlling the bowls at times. 

A large crowd enjoyed the high standard of bowls.

 Action on the green.




The Ladies event was won by Lynne Plater who had a good day out when she beat Margaret Hall, who admitted to being off her game and not playing to the high standard that had got her to the Final.

Lynne Plater.


Runner Up Margaret Hall.

The Plate was won by Kaye Sewell. 

Kaye Sewell.


The Men's Final was won by Keith Guelfi who managed a big fightback to beat Alan Gribble. The game was all Alans' in the early stages and he had a good lead. Keith was stuggling with the wind at times, so changed to the wide hand and staged a big come back to win. 

Winner Keith Guelfi.

Runner Up Alan Gribble.

The Plate was won by Peter Nicolay, who beat Rod Johnson in a tight game. 


With only two Novices they played the best of three format, with Jill Gumbleton winning against Jeanette Brockman. The appreciative audience enjoyed a good standard of bowls, considering the experience of the pair. They will go a long way in the game. Jill was presented with her Trophy in conjunction with the Single Finals on 26th February.

Winner Jill Gumbleton.



This event was completed on Sunday 29th January in good conditions and with a sizable audience who enjoyed the high standard of bowling.

The Championship was won by Keith Guelfi  with Ron Summers Runner Up. The Plate was won by Bob Plater.





Completed in conjunction with the finals of the Veteran's event, six players contested in a Round Robin format. The Final was played by the section winners, with Gene Sputore beating Peter Brown.  Considering it was a Novices event, some excellent bowling was enjoyed by the appreciative spectators. These players will be big improvers in the future. 





The last of the season's Teams Championship was played on 14-15th January. 16 teams entered which was a good effort.

The eventual winners were Barrie Starbuck, David Armstron, Peter Johnson & Peter Brophy.

Runners Up were Les Saunders, Dick Howlett, Bill Robinson & Keith Granger.

The Plate was won by Bernie Hett, Rod Gumbleton, Peter Nimmo & Bob Plater.

Fours Winners.





This event was held before a large crowd who enjoyed the high standard of bowling, even though conditions were tough with the strong wind on the day.

The Winners were Shirley Mulcahy, Robyn Hutchison & Edith Trewren.

Triples winners

 Runners up were Kaye Sewell, Lyn Plater & Jacki Henry.

 Triples runners up

The Plate Winners were Pam Fleming, Joy Garnham & Vicky Bowden.

Plate winners 






The last Championship for  the 2016 calendar year was completed on Sunday 11th December. Once again as sometimes happens in the Triples, there was an upset result, with the team of Brian Barrett, Phillip Anning & Peter Jamieson winning over the fancied David Armstrong, Les Saunders & Don Gooch.


In the Plate, Bruce Walter, Ashley Kemble & Ron Summers defeated Bob Day, Dick Howlett & Ed Walker.


There were some good bowls played all day, well done.


 The Winners.


 Winners Peter Jamieson, Phil Anning & Brian Barrett.



This event was concluded on the 8th December, 2016. A good field had contested this event and the Final was played before a large, appreciative audience.

The Winners were: Pauline Peirce, Robyn Hutchison, Joy Burkett & Lyn Plater.


Runners Up were: Lei Beattie, Jeni Stretton, Kelly Crooks & Eileen Proctor (sub for Patsy Smith, ill).


The Plate was won by: Coral Anning, Pam Harman, Jenny Ditchburn & Edith Trewren.




The first Championship for 2016/17 was concluded on Sunday 9th October. Played in miserable weather, players were tested with cold & windy conditions. The Championship was won by the team of Jenni Stretton (Skip), James Butt, John Lysaght & Nadine Butt. Runners Up were Bernie Hett (Skip), Rod Gumbleton, Patsy Smith & Jill Gumbleton. 

The Winners.


 Runners Up.

 The Plate was won by Bob Day (Skip), Bill Warner, Linda Young & Thelma Kileff.

 Well done all.


This event concluded on the 13th October, 2016. Played in reasonable conditions, the audience enjoyed some good bowling.

The Winner was Judy Morgan, Runner Up was Faye Smythe. The Plate Winner was Kaye Sewell & Runner Up Thelma Kileff.


The 2016 Championship was concluded on Sunday 23rd October. A good field played over two days, with the Finals on Sunday afternoon.

Some excellent bowls were played, but there can only be one Winner. The winning pair were the team of Jack Groves & David Madigan, who were too good on the day to beat Peter Nicolay & Jeff Allen.

 Runners Up Peter Nicolay & Jeff Allen.

 In the Plate it was a close competion, with the pair of John Trewhwella and Alan Gribble just overcoming Gary McCarthy & Laurie Scanlan.


This event was concluded on 10th November, in cool blustery weather with a few rain delays.

The Winners were Robyn Hutchison & Jan Dean. 


 The Runners Up were Patsy Smith & Kaye Sewell.


 The Plate was won by Lei Beattie & Lyn Plater.